Home > The Cellar, The Events > Bathing in Christmas Ale: A 30 Day Holiday Journey

Bathing in Christmas Ale: A 30 Day Holiday Journey

Though 11 days: Stille Nacht tops the quality list.

There is a writer out there who does a beer challenge every once in a while called 100 beers, 30 days. I am not her. But, I am sorry that the challenge mentioned herein somewhat resembles it. I’m doing it all for Christmas.

When I decided to move 1000s of miles away from my family and live the professional life, I recognized a deep dark hole in my holiday season. The holidays are meant to spent with the family, gathering about in funky clothing, before the yule log, sipping egg nog and smelling piney air. I miss all of that specter.

From my 512 square foot condo, I am a man restrained. I cannot lug a tree from the lot; I cannot set lights in my window. I have become deprived of the most festive season of all.

Well, it’s not happening again. I have decided to fight back with a furious celebration of Christmas in a glass. That’s right – 30 days of Christmas beer.

Starting on Thanksgiving, I began a 30 day journey through holiday-inspired brew. We have many fine choices up here in the Northwest, and I intend to get to them all. Of course, many nights will be filled with my old faithful – Great Lakes Christmas Ale – but I am making a concerted effort to diversify the intake.

Please follow my adventure on Facebook, where I will post one new Christmas beer tasting per evening. I have already posted the first 11 days of beer. Check them out by following this link.

At the conclusion, I promise to post a ranking list of my favorites. I will be ranking these beers based both on their ability to harness Christmas in a glass (style) and their ability to put me in the holiday spirit (quality).

If you are drinking Christmas beer – let us know! Happy Holidays from your friends at BeerBlotter.com.

 

Leave a comment